Sunday, August 1, 2010

The Macrocosmic Hexagram

(This a continuation of the study of the classical Western magical cosmology.)

"Astra inclinant non necessitant"
 (The stars incline they do not compel) by Ptolemy 
from his classical work Tetrabiblos. 
This has been the de facto quote of astrologers.1

The Macrocosmic Hexagram: As above, So below. As it is heaven so it is on Earth. The pentagram represents the below (the Earth) while the hexagram represents the above (the planets). This diagram shows how the seven planets are incorporated in the hexagram.

As with the previous diagram Sol occupies the center. The middle column actually contains the outermost(saturn), middle(sol) and innermost planets(luna).

Mars, Jupiter and Sol - the "primary color" planets - forms a triangle pointing downward, symbolic of emanation from the higher spheres (the fixed stars, saturn) into the lower spheres.

Mercury, Venus, Luna forms the second triangle pointing downward, symbolic of manifestation to the sphere of the Earth. Notice how their colors are derived from the colors of the first triad.

Tracing the lightning bolt reveals the order in which the planets appear in the previous diagram.

[1] I didn't use the more often associated motto with the planets: Visita Interiora Terrae Rectificando Invenies Occultum Lapidem (VITRIOL) due to its associations with alchemy and hermeticism, which would be too tough of a subject for beginners I think.


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Affiliate Network Reviews
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...